Privacy leaders recognised as the inaugural PICCASO Privacy Awards shortlist is revealed

The PICCASO Privacy Awards is delighted to reveal the inaugural cohort of shortlisted individuals, teams, initiatives, and businesses for the 2022 Awards, comprising 110 finalists across 15 categories.

The shortlist, which includes those shortlisted for categories including Privacy Leader of the Year, Privacy Award for Achievement, Most Impactful Privacy Product of the Year, and more, will be announced at the JW Marriot Grosvenor House in London on December 8th, 2022.

Hosted by Julia Streets, and featuring keynotes from John Edwards, UK Information Commissioner, and a senior representative from the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, the evening promises to be a celebration like no other!

The PICCASO Privacy Awards will recognise the people and organisations making an outstanding contribution to this dynamic and fast-growing sector—from the professionals ensuring their companies meet increasingly complex privacy, legal and operational requirements, to the academics and engineers pushing privacy thought leadership and innovative protections forward.

Many of the country’s leading privacy professionals and organisations have made it on to the shortlist, which will now be reviewed by an esteemed panel of judges, including Elizabeth Denham CBE, Gill Whitehead, Dr Lukasz Szpruch, Stewart Dresner, Bojana Bellamy, Nick Graham, Ashley Winton, and Joe Jones.

Vivienne Artz OBE, Deputy Chair of PICCASO said,

“Congratulations to all the short-listed nominees on their impressive achievements and dedication to advancing privacy innovation, thought leadership and practice to embed privacy by design into all aspects of our lives and work.“

Tables to attend are now available for purchase here, and you can view the shortlist here:

Best Educator

  • Michael Fortune, BT Group Plc
  • Michael Veale, University College London’s Faculty of Laws
  • Joyce Allen, Freevacy Ltd
  • Jamal Ahmed, Privacy Pros Academy
  • James Leaton Gray, The Privacy Practice
  • Lilian Edwards, University of Newcastle
  • Alexis Galanis, OneTrust Data Guidance
  • Dr Vasileios Karagiannopoulos, University of Portsmouth

Best Innovative Privacy Project

  • Willy Duhen, King
  • Sherif Malak, Shoosmiths LLP
  • FTI Technology’s Information Governance, Privacy & Security team, FTI Technology
  • Tracey Kerr, Glen Hymers, Angus Young, Jenny HIll, Peter Wilson & Nasreen Ayoob, Cabinet Office
  • CSI-COP project team, Coventry University
  • Nokia Data Marketplace, Nokia
  • Robert Baugh, Keepabl
  • Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO)
  • John Dean & Fedelma Good, PwC UK

Best Privacy Culture Improvement Award

  • BT Legal Data Compliance & Assurance Team, BT Group Plc
  • Lidl’s The Data Protection Team, Lidl GB
  • The Hyde Group Information Governance Team, The Hyde Group
  • IQEQ Group Privacy and Data Protection Team, IQEQ Group
  • Google
  • British Airways
  • RX Global

Best Privacy Programme Award

  • BT’s Data Legal compliance and assurance (DLC&A), BT Group Plc
  • London Stock Exchange Group Privacy Office, London Stock Exchange Group (LSEG)
  • Smart Meter Code (SEC), Gemserv
  • Andy Hunter, Boundless by CSMA
  • Chris Frampton, Tata Consultancy Services Limited
  • Haroon Chughtai, Seers

Bridging the Privacy and Security Gap Award

  • Royal Mail Think Secure Programme, Royal Mail Group
  • Onur Korucu, Avanade
  • Rahul Bhardwaj, Kroll
  • Chris Frampton & Vikrant Ingle, Tata Consultancy Services Limited
  • Gareth Packham, Save the Children International
  • Susanne Bitter, Cyber Security Forum Initiative
  • Mark Andrew John Purkiss, UK Civil Service

ESG Privacy Initiative

  • SafePorter Secure Limited
  • Royal Mail Group
  • YouGov Plc
  • Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Allianz SE
  • HSBC

Most Impactful Privacy Product of the Year

  • 3M UK Plc
  • Zivver
  • OneTrust
  • Exterro
  • BigID
  • Privacy Culture Ltd
  • DataGuard
  • IBM

Outstanding DPO

  • Evie Stenhouse, The Body Shop
  • Janine McKelvey, BT Group Plc
  • Fay Godfree, Siemens Healthineers
  • Tara Manton, Calligo (UK) Limited
  • Lesley Holmes, MHR International UK Ltd
  • Kate Lewis, GB Group Plc
  • Evan Davies, YouGov Plc
  • Linda Thielova, OneTrust Technology Limited
  • Matthew Kay, Metro Bank
  • Lisa Branco, Gartner

Privacy Award for Achievement

  • Fedelma Good, PwC UK
  • Rosemary Jay, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP
  • Brad Bryant, Aon
  • Stewart Room, DWF
  • Ruth Boardman, Bird & Bird
  • Martin Jackson, Data Protection Manager, THG
  • Eduardo Ustaran, Hogan Lovells

Privacy Champion

  • John Deane, Link Group
  • Bill Mew, The Crisis Team
  • Robert Baugh, Keepabl
  • Tash Whitaker, Whitaker Solutions
  • Camilla Winlo, Gemserv
  • Simon Pillinger, Akrivia Health

Privacy Executive of the Year

  • Joao Barreiro, BeiGene
  • Rob Masson, The DPO Centre
  • Merilyne Davis, RX Global
  • James De Cor,
  • Samantha Simms, The Information Collective
  • Sunny Vara, CyberCy
  • Gary Brown, Westinghouse Electric Company
  • Robert Baugh, Keepabl

Privacy Team of the Year

  • BT Legal Data Compliance & Assurance Team, BT Group Plc
  • Cognizant Global Data Responsibility & Privacy Delivery Guild, Cognizant
  • Shoosmiths Privacy & Data Team, Shoosmiths LLP
  • The Data Privacy Group
  • BNY Mellon Global Privacy Office, BNY Mellon
  • Lidl GB Data Protection Team, Lidl GB
  • VMware Global Privacy Team, VMware
  • Information Governance Services
  • GB Group Plc
  • Calligo Privacy Team, Calligo

Privacy Writer/Author

  • Nader Henein, Gartner
  • Dr Paul Lambert, Author
  • Natasha Lomas, TechCrunch
  • Catherine Chapman, Writer
  • Joe Tidy, Writer
  • Carissa Véliz, University of Oxford

Rising Star Award

  • Rodica Cararus, S&P Global
  • Emma Godfree, iSTORM®
  • Liz Smith, BCS the Chartered Institute for IT
  • Olga Phillips, Salesforce
  • Louisa Resmerita, FTI Technology
  • Henry Davies, Likewize
  • Kathryn Brooks, Cambridge Education Group
  • Kyle Secker, ev dot energy Ltd

Privacy Leader of the Year: Technology

  • Ivana Bartoletti, Wipro
  • Dr Nathalie Moreno, Addleshaw Goddard
  • Fox Ahmed, BNP Paribas
  • Pal Vaczi, Invesco Ltd
  • Elizabeth Kiernan, ITV
  • Emerald de Leeuw-Goggin, Logitech
  • Gareth Davies, Oxford University Press

Privacy Leader of the Year: Public Sector

  • Lisa Wilson, SCS Joint venture for HS2
  • Ashantel Lachhani, The Hyde Group
  • Andrew Harvey, University Hospitals Sussex NHS Foundation Trust
  • Paul Withers, Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Glen Hymers, UK Cabinet Office
  • Angharad Jackson, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman
  • Karim Hussain, Government Legal Department

Privacy Leader of the Year: Legal

  • Gareth Oldale, TLT
  • Katie Hewson, Stephenson Harwood LLP
  • Stewart Room, DWF
  • Rohan Massey, Ropes & Gray LLP
  • Eduardo Ustaran, Hogan Lovells
  • Puja Verma, Philips
  • Miriam Everett, Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Gerhard van Deventer, NatWest Group

Privacy Leader of the Year: Consulting

  • Sophie Chase-Borthwick, Calligo
  • Nina Bryant, FTI Technology
  • Jamal Ahmed, Kazient Privacy Experts
  • Hellen Beveridge, Cognizant
  • Richard Merrygold, iSTORM®
  • Nicole Diana, The National Trust

Privacy Leader of the Year: Academia

  • Dr Vasileios Karagiannopoulos, University of Portsmouth
  • Carissa Véliz, University of Oxford
  • Nigel Gooding, Plymouth Marjon University
  • Akbar Datoo, University of Surrey
  • Lilian Edwards, University of Newcastle
  • Markus Krebsz, University of Stirling
  • Prof Sandra Wachter, Oxford Internet Institute, University of Oxford