PICCASO Privacy Awards Winners Announced: Celebrating the Brightest and Best in Data Protection

The awards ceremony took place at the Grosvenor House ballroom in London. It featured keynotes by Vivienne Artz OBE and Liberal Democrat peer Lord Clement-Jones CBE, plus a speech via video by Information Commissioner John Edwards.

broken image

Recognition is long overdue for privacy professionals working in this fast-growing and ever-changing sector. With technology and data playing an increasingly integral part in every facet of society, the PICCASO Awards celebrate those working so hard to keep personal data safe and minimise risk.

From over 140 finalists, 19 winners were selected by a judging panel that included, among others, former Information Commissioner Elizabeth Denham, former Information Commissioner; Stewart Dresner, Founder and Chief Executive of Privacy Laws & Business; and Joe Jones, Deputy Director, International Data Transfers at the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS).

All PICCASO Privacy Awards finalists were individuals and organisations at the forefront of advancing privacy thought leadership and innovation in data protection.

After a drinks reception, speeches and dinner, the winners were announced:

  • Best Educator: Michael Fortune, Senior Manager Data Behaviours & Culture, BT Group Plc
  • Best Innovative Privacy Project: CSI-COP Project Team, Coventry University
  • Best Privacy Culture Improvement Award: RX Global
  • Best Privacy Programme Award: Chris Frampton, Data Protection Officer UK&I, Tata Consultancy Services Limited
  • Bridging the Privacy and Security Gap Award: Royal Mail, Think Secure Programme
  • ESG Privacy Initiative: Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Most Impactful Privacy Product of the Year: Zivver
  • Outstanding DPO: Lesley Holmes, Data Protection Officer, MHR International UK Ltd
  • Privacy Award for Achievement: Rosemary Jay, Senior Consultant Attorney, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP
  • Privacy Champion: Robert Baugh, CEO, Keepabl
  • Privacy Executive of the Year: Joao Barreiro, Chief Privacy Officer (Global), BeiGene
  • Privacy Team of the Year: Lidl GB Data Protection Team, Lidl GB
  • Privacy Writer/Author: Nader Henein, Research VP - Data Protection and Privacy / DEI Chair, Gartner
  • Rising Star Award: Rodica Cararus, Privacy Compliance Analyst, S&P Global
  • Privacy Leader of the Year: Technology: Ivana Bartoletti, Global Chief Privacy Officer, Wipro
  • Privacy Leader of the Year: Public Sector: Glen Hymers, Head of Data Privacy and Compliance, UK Cabinet Office
  • Privacy Leader of the Year: Legal: Katie Hewson, Specialist Data Protection Partner, Stephenson Harwood LLP
  • Privacy Leader of the Year: Consulting: Hellen Beveridge, Senior Manager Data Responsibility & Global Privacy Delivery, Cognizant
  • Privacy Leader of the Year: Academic: Dr Vasileios Karagiannopoulos, University of Portsmouth

A huge congratulations to all the talented finalists and winners at the first of many PICCASO Privacy Awards.